In Appreciation Of Chris Squire

Paul, Gary & Chris on bass

I was originally inspired to play a Rickenbacker bass by Paul McCartney (in Wings) and Chris Squire, of Yes. Given my very-public POP leanings (File Under Pop Vocal, anyone?), most people wouldn’t guess that I’m a closet Prog Rock fan, or that my very first concert I saw was Yes, at the SUNY Geneseo student union (for $1.00, w/student ID!) in 1971.

But I LOVE Yes, and especially their gifted bassist Chris Squire, who passed away this weekend at the age of 67. Squire was the only member present on EVERY iteration of the band (and why they aren’t in the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame is beyond me!).

I was lucky enough to see them again in concert several times over the years, with the most recent being on a 100º day at the Artpark in Buffalo a few years ago on their Fly From Here tour. To see Squire perform live, was like attending a master class in bass playing. His agility and inventiveness redefined the instrument for several generations of musicians, myself included.

He was also an equally-gifted singer and writer, and his background vocals and compositions were as much a part of the Yes sound as his landmark bass playing.

Truly one of a kind, he will be sorely missed.

Leave a Reply

